My Opinion

by Sabrina
(TraverseCity, Michigan, US)

I'm a student studying ASL in high school. I found the article to be quite interesting watching your view point on the cochlear implant change from 100% against it, to falling through the cracks while you considered it for your son.

I can see the struggle in a parent's eyes, trying to figure out if they should get a cochlear implant for their child. I find the self-battle to be intriguing.
I, myself, have a wavering stance on the subject as well as you do. Although I've never found myself in any given situation that had to have me figure out if I should get an implant or not, due to my already having the ability of hearing. But, I have read numerous stories and watch a few videos on the subject. Controversy is obviously strong with this ever growing issue of the cochlear implant.
For me, it's hard to understand how a deaf person might feel in the deaf world, since I'm not, but I've always admired those who love it dearly. I have a great feeling that if I were to have gone deaf at birth, or early childhood stages (between 0-5) I wouldn't get an implant. I'd embrace the inability to hear with open arms. I love the deaf culture. However, I'm not so sure I'd object to getting an implant if I were to go deaf right now. Speaking is such a huge part in my life right now, not really for any particular reason other than my entire family and my whole friend group is hearing. Communication is vital in my life, as it is in anyone else's. But, hearing is more important to me than speaking for one reason... I've grown up with music. Music has become quite important to me when I started hitting a rough patch in my life and instead of doing what most teens do, and turn to drugs/alcohol.... I turned to music. I can honestly believe that when any person I've met says that "music is my life," I can say that it's far more important to me than to them. I'm absolutely positive I'd be able to function in the deaf world, had I not ever discovered the importance of music in my life.
So, with that, I'd instantly ask my parents to get me an implant if I were to go deaf right now or anytime in the future.

Personally, that's my opinion on the matter, if I were to be faced with it.
and I stand the same way if I were to be a parent to a deaf child. If my child were to be born deaf, she/he would stay deaf until they're older and wise enough to make their own decisions. If my child were to have gone deaf at an older than five years of age, I'd highly consider getting an implant due to them growing up with speaking and hearing communication rather than growing up with ASL.

My opinion may be of that sort, but I do encourage adults to consider the implant because I think it'd be an amazing experience to have heard something at one point or another. This means no disrespect to the deaf culture, I highly admire it, as already stated. But, I think it'd change their lives if they heard something, but still used ASL.

that's my opinion :)

Comments for My Opinion

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 13, 2015
Himalaya herbals NEW
by: Kelton Glass

A recent survey made by the World Health Organization noted that 80 percent of the people from all corners of the world prefer herbal products like Himalaya herbals .

Nov 11, 2015
mequinol NEW
by: Gordon Stuart

Hydroquinone requires a prolonged course of treatment to be effective. Mequinol, tretinoin, alpha-hydroxy acids, azelaic acid and salicylic acid can also used as topical solutions.

Nov 11, 2015
Benoquin NEW
by: Jax Glenn

Benoquin 20 cream buy is the most preferred cream by many doctors to their patients.

Nov 09, 2015
GIA diamond certification NEW
by: Anonymous

Nice article, thanks for the information. It's very complete information. I will bookmark for next reference. GIA diamond certification

Nov 03, 2015
Nice NEW
by: Anonymous

Tat was an awesome post and i like that.
HostGator Coupons Offers

Oct 29, 2015
American apparel skater dress NEW
by: Bentley Horne

We strive to embrace and deliver all aspects of the London lifestyle to our customers, leaving the possibilities lmitless. American apparel skater dress

Oct 26, 2015
indian railway recruitment NEW
by: Remington Montoya

For Indian railway recruitment, an interview is required to be taken by the candidates who are applying for this position.

Oct 22, 2015
opinion NEW
by: Anonymous

That looks really nice. This is so far one of the best blog post I have ever read. Exceptional presentation, fine writing style and perfectly executed. Only few writes are gifted with such skills, and you are lucky enough to do that.

Oct 21, 2015
facial plastic surgeon thousand oaks NEW
by: Matteo Hensley

Facial plastic surgeon Thousand Oaks is a kind of dream offer. Who will not want to get more beautiful in just thousand oaks? Technology has grown hugely and best treatments are available to common people in very low prices.

Oct 17, 2015
Weather Hedge NEW
by: Enzo Hahn

Driving in Weather Hedge can be uncommonly hazardous for you, as well as for other people out and about.

Oct 15, 2015
Good post NEW
by: Briana Rosenbaum

Thanks for your brilliant articles! Your niche site is great!
May I publish your article on my site?
I will link for you as an author of this article!

Many thanks for answering!

Oct 15, 2015
about post NEW
by: Anonymous

This post is quite improved than earlier, I have got free steam wallet codes with the help of this website:

Oct 14, 2015
Custom Sheds New England NEW
by: Franco Sykes

That's true, sometimes we need any topics like you've written above. It can refresh our brain with something new. Custom Sheds New England

Oct 09, 2015
lock replacement NEW
by: Malakai Mcconnell

Thanks for Nice and Informative Post. This article is really contains lot more information about This Topic. - lock replacement

Oct 09, 2015
Weed Eater Reviews NEW
by: Lyric Luna

Another great machine to add to this list is homelite weed eater. It is one of the best machines available in the market.

Oct 05, 2015
Opinion NEW
by: Ana

Past my time, I was reading somewhat in the same category and I to come across this site which I found it good. It looked interesting and I decided to scrutinize every contents and I read yours.. It was absolutely worth it and I liked it loads. If you are a fashioner or simply desire to look fine then get this exceptional outerwear at the lowest price, then please click here

Sep 23, 2015
my opinion NEW
by: Anonymous

this is a great article. I like that
Paytm offers

Sep 17, 2015
Great NEW
by: Anjali

This is such a very impressive article for me.

Hostgator Promo Code September 2015

Sep 02, 2015
Different opinions NEW
by: Anonymous

You opinion sounds good and contains some weight. However, you can contact the professionals of buy research paper for more better opinion on a particular subject.

Aug 25, 2015
by: Kati Lesniak

I do encourage adults to consider the implant because I think it'd be an amazing experience to have heard something at one point or another.
Also, you can buy college papers here by best essay writers. Now you can receive additional 20% discount.

Aug 21, 2015
I'll keep... NEW
by: Lisa Phillian

I'll keep follow this good discussion in my sparetime. Btw, have a look my web: palm springs wedding venue.

Aug 19, 2015
yes NEW
by: Anonymous

I have to say the truth right now. Your site is very useful for me. Thanks. meet me @ seo company.

Jul 28, 2015
Nice Website! NEW
by: Susan Fernando

I have thought the depiction of this Information is really superb one. This is my first stay to your website I like it more.

Jul 16, 2015
Hello NEW
by: Anonymous

This is very interesting place. I can get as many information I need for my jasa seo biz. Thanks!

Jul 01, 2015
Anwer Ali NEW
by: Anonymous

What is deaf culture? any signs in baby or women during pregnancy? check out all about that topic. Contact with our team and order us to type my paper for me in your own provided budget limit. For that purpose, you can use live chat facility as well.

Jun 17, 2015
Good post NEW
by: Freddy Moen

Thanks for your brilliant articles! Your niche site is great!
May I publish your article on my site?
I will link for you as an author of this article!

Many thanks for answering!

Nov 20, 2014
My opinion NEW
by: Anonymous

I am also taking ASL in high school. :) I just barely sent my story, so feel free to read it as soon as it goes up on the website. It is titled "To hear or not to hear".

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Evolution of a Cochlear Implant Attitude.